Richard Morris Hunt Prize

The Richard Morris Hunt Prize is an intensive and curated six-month fellowship, divisible in two or three periods, that carries a $20,000 award for registered architects to pursue cutting-edge research on emerging trends in historic preservation. As part of the RMHP experience, the Fellow benefits from guidance and access to a network of the leading historic preservation professionals in France and the United States.

The Richard Morris Hunt Prize (RMHP) has been fostering and supporting cross-cultural professional exchange between France and the United States since 1990. U.S. design professionals study in France, and French design professionals study in the U.S. during alternating years.

In years where the applicant pool demonstrates exceptional merit, the runner-up receives a $5,000 scholarship for a shorter five-week specialized course of research and study.


Applicants must:

  • Be U.S. citizens
  • Be registered architects with 5+ years work experience
  • Have a minimum of professional working proficiency speaking skills in French
  • Have the ability to travel to France for six months, spread across two or three periods.

Application criteria

Applications should demonstrate one or more of the following:

  • A proposed subject of study responding to the current issues in contemporary architectural practice
  • Academic and work experiences that prepare for undertaking of the Fellowship, and
  • How the international experience will apply to the applicant’s professional career after the Fellowship.

Application process

The 2020 Richard Morris Hunt Prize will be awarded to a French architect, selected by Les Amis du RMHP. The application period is now closed.

Applications for the 2021 American prize will open in the spring of 2020, and the final jury will take place in Washington, D.C. in the fall.

The travel and research program for the American honorees will be guided by the managing team in France. The Fellow must submit a final report within one year of the last month of the Fellowship; the Scholar within six months.

Email us at

Interested in applying for the American scholarship? Sign up to receive notifications >

Interested in supporting the Richard Morris Hunt Prize? Donate >

About Richard Morris Hunt

The Richard Morris Hunt Prize honors the memory of the first American architect to graduate from Paris’s Ecole des Beaux-Arts. Richard Morris Hunt introduced the Beaux-Arts style in the United States and was a central figure in the “City Beautiful” movement. Hunt was among the group of thirteen architects who founded The American Institute of Architects in 1857, and was AIA’s third president.


Thank you to our sponsors!

Traditional Builder