Architecture scholarships

You’ve got big plans for your future. A scholarship from the Architects Foundation can help you reach them. Every year, the foundation awards thousands of dollars in architecture scholarships to high school students; to architecture students in NAAB-accredited undergraduate and graduate degree programs; to Architect Registration Exam (ARE) candidates who are working toward becoming licensed architects; and to licensed architects pursuing educational enrichment opportunities.


Jason Pettigrew Memorial ARE Scholarship

This scholarship is an early career award that honors the memory of Jason Pettigrew, an emerging architect who was working toward licensure. It helps support emerging professionals who are working toward their license with a scholarship that covers the full cost of the ARE (the Architect Registration Exam) as well as study materials.

Applications for the  2019 Jason Pettigrew Memorial ARE Scholarship are now open through July 12, 2019.

Learn more >

RMH Laureates

The Richard Morris Hunt Prize

The Richard Morris Hunt Prize (RMHP) is an intensive and curated six-month program, divisible in two or three periods, that carries a $20,000 award for registered architects to pursue research related to contemporary challenges in historic preservation. RMHP has been fostering and supporting cross-cultural professional exchange between France and the United States since 1990. U.S. design professionals study in France, and French design professionals study in the U.S. during alternating years.

French laureate applications are currently open through July 1. The next application period for American candidates will be open Spring 2020.

Learn more >


Diversity Advancement Scholarship

This multiyear scholarship supports high school and undergraduate minority students who are entering, enrolled in, or transferring into a NAAB-accredited undergraduate architecture program. Scholarships may be renewed every year until your degree is completed, for up to 5 years ($20,000 total award).

The application period for 2019-2020 scholarships is now closed. Recipients will be announced in May 2019.

Learn more >
Request resources for your students >


Payette Sho-Ping Chin Memorial Academic Scholarship

Sho-Ping Chin, FAIA, helped shape the national discourse on women in architecture and design, and this $10,000 scholarship honors her legacy. The scholarship is open to third- and fourth-year women architecture students in a NAAB-accredited undergraduate degree program, as well as women in any level of graduate study in a NAAB-accredited program. In addition to the financial award, recipients also get paired with a senior mentor from Payette for their scholarship year.

The application period for 2019-2020 scholarship is now closed. The recipient will be announced in May 2019.

Learn more >

Yann Weymouth

Yann Weymouth Graduate Scholarship

The Yann Weymouth Graduate Scholarship was established in 2018 in honor of Yann Weymouth, AIA. This scholarship will be awarded each year to an architecture student with a focus on the design intersection of sustainability, resilience, wellness and beauty. The recipient will receive a $5,000 scholarship, as well as a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to be mentored by Weymouth.

The application period for 2019-2020 scholarship is now closed. The recipient will be announced in May 2019.

Learn more >

Maison Gauthier
Architects Foundation / McAslan Fellowship

The Architects Foundation/McAslan Fellowship supports travel for two students to engage with McAslan+ Partners and the World Monuments Fund in the restoration program for the Madame Gauthier Villa in Port au Prince, Haiti, as part of the U.S. State Department’s newly awarded Ambassador’s Fund of $200,000 to be launched in 2019. Travel will occur to New York and to Port-au-Prince.

Students must be matriculating from a NAAB-accredited undergraduate architecture program or studying within a NAAB-accredited master’s degree program.

The application period for 2019 fellowships is closed. Recipients will be announced in May 2019.

Learn more >

ProNet Scholarship
a/e ProNet David W. Lakamp AIA Scholarship

David W. Lakamp was a founder of a/e ProNet and a trusted advisor to the profession of architecture. He left behind a legacy of professionalism and integrity that set new standards in the field of insurance services. In his honor two students who best demonstrate strong interest in practice and risk management will each receive a $5,000 award.

The application period for 2019-2020 scholarships is closed. Recipients will be announced in May 2019.

Learn more >


2019 Sho-Ping Chin Women’s Leadership Summit Grant

In honor of Sho-Ping Chin, FAIA, we are thrilled to offer a grant opportunity for recipients to attend the 2019 AIA Women’s Leadership Summit. Sho-Ping was a Principal at Payette and in 2009 the founding leader of the inaugural AIA Women’s Leadership Summit.  The memorial fund established in her name is focused on funding the development of future women leaders in architecture.

The 2019 Sho-Ping Chin Women’s Leadership summit grant application period is closed. Recipients will be chosen in April 2019.

Learn more >

More scholarships & support for students

The Architects Foundation is the philanthropic partner of The American Institute of Architects, which offers a few additional architecture scholarships and awards not listed here. Visit the AIA website to explore resources for students and opportunities for recent graduates including one of the industry’s best job boards and free membership.

More scholarships at >
How AIA supports students >

Scholarship questions?

Whether you’re a student, professor, or guidance counselor, we’re happy to help you get the information you need. Contact us anytime at

In order to ensure scholarship funds are used for their intended purpose to support a student’s academic studies, and to maintain the integrity of our relationship with academic institutions, it is the policy of the Architects Foundation to work with the institutional financial aid offices to distribute awards. We do not remit scholarship funds to individuals.