Scholarship recipients receive funds, a subscription to ArchiPrep® and study materials for the Architectural Registration Examination. 

WASHINGTON –The Architects Foundation is awarding ten recipients with its 2019 Jason Pettigrew Memorial Architect Registration Examination (ARE) Scholarship.

The Jason Pettigrew Memorial ARE Scholarship recognizes the significant contributions of emerging professionals at early stages in their careers and helps defray the costs associated with the ARE. Each of the scholarship recipients will receive funds to cover all sections of the ARE, as well as a free subscription to ArchiPrep® and up to $500 worth of ARE 5.0 study materials. This year’s scholars include:

  • Evan Berger, Assoc. AIA
  • Hiba Bhatty, Assoc. AIA
  • Ethan Coverstone, Assoc. AIA
  • Michele Crawford, Assoc. AIA
  • Gustavo Diez Presilla, Assoc. AIA
  • Tasanee Durrett, Assoc. AIA
  • Johanna Forman, Assoc. AIA
  • Tiara Hughes, Assoc. AIA
  • Sandra Montalbo, Assoc. AIA
  • Ofunne Oganwu, Assoc. AIA

Three additional scholarships are also being donated this year by 2018 Pettigrew Scholarship recipient Tiffany Brown, Assoc. AIA. Brown’s scholarship will cover the cost of AREs for African American females who did not already receive an award this year through her organization 400 FORWARD, which aims to support the next generation of licensed women architects. Recipients of Brown’s award, include:

  • Tasheria Shorts, Assoc. AIA
  • Gloria Spellen, Assoc. AIA
  •  Zandria Mims Tolliver, Assoc. AIA

“We’re astounded every year by the caliber of the applicants for this scholarship, and this year was no exception,” said Architects Foundation Board member and jury chair Bill Roschen, FAIA. “We very much appreciate Ms. Brown stepping in to provide additional help, which is a great testament to the strong alumni network of our Architects Foundation scholars.”

The Jason Pettigrew Memorial ARE Scholarship was established in 2004 by the AIA National Associates Committee, to honor the memory of their late friend and colleague, Jason Pettigrew, Associate AIA. The scholarship has been with the Architects Foundation since 2015.

Complete details on the Jason Pettigrew scholarship program are available on the Architects Foundation website.