Scholarships cover costs of the Architectural Registration Examination.

The Architects Foundation today announced recipients for three Architect Registration Examination® (ARE) scholarships.

Through the Jason Pettigrew Memorial ARE Scholarship, LFRT ARE Scholarship, and the 400 Forward ARE Scholarship, candidates for licensure receive funds covering costs of the Architect Registration Examination®.

Jason Pettigrew Memorial ARE Scholarship

The Jason Pettigrew Memorial ARE Scholarship recognizes the significant contributions of emerging professionals at early stages in their careers and helps defray the costs associated with the ARE. Each of the scholarship recipients will receive funds to cover all sections of the ARE, as well as a free subscription to ArchiPrep® and up to $500 worth of ARE 5.0 study materials. This year’s scholars include:

  • Mercedes Bellino, Assoc. AIA
  • Alexus Davis, Assoc. AIA
  • Joshua Foster, Assoc. AIA
  • Seher Hashmi, Assoc. AIA
  • Eric Harris, Assoc. AIA
  • Briana Johnson, Assoc. AIA
  • Megan Kapua Pimental, Assoc. AIA
  • Didier McQueen Porter, Assoc. AIA
  • Evan Stravers, Assoc. AIA
  • Lauren Tucker, Assoc. AIA

Complete details on the Jason Pettigrew scholarship program are available on the Architects Foundation website.

LFRT ARE Scholarship

The AIA Large Firm Roundtable presents two awards to Black and African American candidates for licensure. Awardees receive a grant covering the full cost of the Architectural Registration Examination, as well as study materials, access to Archiprep®, and Assoc. AIA membership. The 2020 LFRT ARE Scholarship winners are:

  • Jonathan Cartwright, Assoc. AIA
  • Rebekah Gaines Schranck, Assoc. AIA

Applications for next year’s LFRT ARE Scholarship will launch in the second quarter of 2021.

400 Forward ARE Scholarship

Two additional scholarships are also being donated this year by 2018 Pettigrew Scholarship recipient Tiffany Brown, Assoc. AIA. Brown’s scholarship will cover the cost of AREs for Black and African American females who did not already receive an award this year through her organization 400 FORWARD, which aims to support the next generation of licensed women architects. Recipients of Brown’s award, include:

  • Fallon Johnson, Assoc. AIA
  • Sharlita Olaleye, Assoc. AIA

“We very much appreciate the generosity of LFRT and 400 Forward,” said Architects Foundation Board Vice President and Jury Chair Bill Roschen, FAIA. “With their support, we can help move the needle toward licensure of Black and African American ARE candidates.”

Learn more about the Architects Foundation scholarships online.