Architecture scholarships

You’ve got big plans for your future. A scholarship from the Architects Foundation can help you reach them. Every year, the Foundation awards thousands of dollars in architecture scholarships to high school students; to architecture students in NAAB-accredited undergraduate and graduate degree programs; to Architect Registration Exam (ARE) candidates who are working toward becoming licensed architects; and to licensed architects pursuing educational enrichment opportunities.


Jason Pettigrew Memorial ARE Scholarship

This scholarship is an early career award that honors the memory of Jason Pettigrew, Assoc. AIA. It helps support emerging professionals who are working toward their license with a scholarship covering the full cost of the ARE (the Architect Registration Exam), as well as study materials.

Applications for the  2020 Jason Pettigrew Memorial ARE Scholarship will open in the spring of 2020.

Learn more >

RMH Laureates

Richard Morris Hunt Prize

The Richard Morris Hunt Prize (RMHP) is $20,000 travel fellowship allowing architects to conduct cutting-edge research on emerging trends in historic preservation. Alternating between French and American awardees, the RMHP program has been fostering cross-cultural professional exchange between France and the United States since 1990.

The application period for American candidates will open in the spring of 2020.

Learn more >

ProNet Scholarship
a/e ProNet David W. Lakamp AIA Scholarship

Named after David W. Lakamp, a founder of a/e ProNet and a trusted advisor to the profession of architecture, this scholarship is awarded annually to two students who demonstrate a strong interest in practice and risk management in the field of architecture. Each student receives a $5,000 award.

The application period for the 2020-2021 scholarship is now closed. The recipients will be notified in April 2020.

Learn more >

Maison Gauthier
AF/McAslan Fellowship

Established in 2019, the Architects Foundation/McAslan Fellowship supports travel for two students to engage with UK-based firm John McAslan+ Partners. Students must be matriculating from a NAAB-accredited undergraduate architecture program or studying within a NAAB-accredited master’s degree program.

The application period for the 2020 fellowship is now closed. The recipients will be notified in February 2020.

Learn more >


Diversity Advancement Scholarship

This multiyear scholarship supports high school and undergraduate minority students who are entering, enrolled in, or transferring into a NAAB-accredited undergraduate architecture program. Scholarships may be renewed every year until your degree is completed, for up to 5 years ($20,000 total award).

The application period for the 2020-2021 scholarship is now closed. Recipients will be notified in April 2020.

Learn more >
Request resources for your students >


Payette Sho-Ping Chin Memorial Academic Scholarship

Sho-Ping Chin, FAIA, helped shape the national discourse on women in architecture and design, and this $10,000 scholarship honors her legacy. The scholarship is open to third- and fourth-year women architecture students in a NAAB-accredited undergraduate degree program, as well as women in any level of graduate study in a NAAB-accredited program. In addition to the financial award, recipients also get paired with a senior mentor from Payette for their scholarship year.

The application period for the 2020-2021 scholarship is now closed. The recipient will be notified in April 2020.

Learn more >

Yann Weymouth

Yann Weymouth Graduate Scholarship

The Yann Weymouth Graduate Scholarship was established in 2018 in honor of Yann Weymouth, AIA. This scholarship will be awarded each year to an architecture student with a focus on the design intersection of sustainability, resilience, wellness and beauty. The recipient will receive a $5,000 scholarship, as well as a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to be mentored by Weymouth.

The application period for the 2020-2021 scholarship is now closed. The recipient will be notified in April 2020.

Learn more >

Sho-Ping Chin Women’s Leadership Summit Grant

Honoring the founding leader of the AIA Women’s Leadership Summit (WLS), this grant opportunity allows emerging women leaders in architecture to attend the biennial conference. Grantees receive registration to WLS and up to $700 in travel reimbursement. The next WLS grants will be available in 2021.

Learn more >

More scholarships & support for students

The Architects Foundation is the philanthropic partner of The American Institute of Architects, which offers a few additional architecture scholarships and awards not listed here. Explore resources for students and opportunities for recent graduates including one of the industry’s best job boards and free membership.

More scholarships at >
How AIA supports students >

Scholarship questions?

Whether you’re a student, professor, or guidance counselor, we’re happy to help you get the information you need. Contact us anytime at

In order to ensure scholarship funds are used for their intended purpose to support a student’s academic studies, and to maintain the integrity of our relationship with academic institutions, it is the policy of the Architects Foundation to work with the institutional financial aid offices to distribute awards. We do not remit scholarship funds to individuals.