Diversity Advancement Scholarship

This architecture scholarship can change your life!

Maybe you chose architecture because you want to design a better world. Or you can’t imagine doing anything else. One thing’s for certain: You love this work. And we’d love to help fund your college experience with a multiyear scholarship, up to $20,000.

We created the Diversity Advancement Scholarship to help more minority students pursue a successful career in architecture. Multiple scholarships are available.

$20,000 scholarship

We’re looking for minority students whose imagination and design thinking will influence the future of the built environment and the architecture profession. Eligible students must be a US citizen, have a minimum 3.0 GPA, and be:

  • a high school student planning to enroll in a NAAB-accredited architecture degree program;
  • a rising second-year college student in a NAAB-accredited architecture degree program; or,
  • a technical school or community college student who has completed high school or its equivalent and intends to transfer to a NAAB-accredited architecture program.

NAAB-accredited degree programs may be a five-year Bachelor of Architecture degree, or a four-year pre-professional bachelor degree followed by a Master of Architecture degree. Scholarships may be renewed for up to 5 years (up to a $20,000 total award—multiple scholarships are available).

The Diversity Advancement Scholarship was created in 1970 with an initial grant from the Ford Foundation, after civil rights leader Whitney Young Jr. challenged architects in 1968 to create a more responsible and equitable field. Read the program report here.

Application process

Applications for the 2021-2022 academic year will open in the fall of 2020. Sign up to receive application opening notifications.

Applicants must submit:

  • A comprehensive essay that tells us your story and how your journey relates to your interest in architecture (1,200 words)
  • A professional resume
  • Two letters of recommendation
  • A portfolio (3-5 creative works, do not have to be architecture-specific)

Request resources for your students >

Email us at scholarships@architectsfoundation.org.

2020 Selection Committee:

Brent Castro Architectural Designer, EYP Architecture & Engineering (Chair)
Michelle Rinehart Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Outreach, Georgia Institute of Technology College of Architecture (Co-chair)
William Bates, FAIA 2019 President, The American Institute of Architects (AIA)
Greg Burke, FAIA President, Gregory J. Burke / Architect, PA
Larry Carr Senior Project Interior Designer, Perkins + Will
Tamara Eagle Bull, FAIA President, Encompass Architects PC
Maria Gabriela Flores Kearns, AIA Principal, Flores Kearns, CSP
Adam Fogel, Assoc. AIA 2019-2020 National Vice President, The American Institute of Architecture Students (AIAS)
Stephen Parker, AIA Architect, SmithGroup
Kenneth Schwartz, FAIA Founding Director, Phyllis M. Taylor Center for Social Innovation and Design Thinking
Timothy Stone, AIA Founder, TIM STONE Architects
Chris Vandall, AIA Associate Principal, OZ Architecture
Karl Vavrek, AIA Project Architect, DNM Architecture


Thank you to our scholarship sponsors!

Current partner-funded scholarships:
Benjamin Moore & Co. Foundation: Sierra Callwood, Leslie Epps, Caroline Senyszyn 
Custom Residential Architects Network, an AIA Knowledge Community: Ania Yee-Boguinskaia and David Huo